POKEMONDAYS 3

There are just under 3 mondays till Pokemon X & Y release yikes! Status: 😀 WIthdrawal symptom level: low, way too excited at this point.  So, I thought I’d get back to schedule this week.  Seeing as it’s only been a weekend  in between my last news the web is still in awe of the Pokémon fossils and their stunning evolutions.  There’s not much news, but there’s still fantastic artists, rumours and finally nostalgisms:

ARTIST OF THE WEEK 1: THE MULTI TALENTED RIKU AOSHI

I Was super happy to discover this guy during my desperate search to find a likeable image of Mega Amphoros. Not only did I get that with RikuAoshi, who’s stunning vibrant pieces are full of Amphoros love, but I also discovered a talented animator! His Mareep to Amphoros evolution is a real treat, and his artworks are equally lively; his creative ideas, distinct lighting and battle compositions make even still works seem able to spring to life at any point:

all works ©2013 *RikuAoshi

You see what I mean? The Shingeki reference on the Typhlosion was so smoothly done I almost wanted to watch the new episodes just to see if he makes a cameo.  And the Amphoros and Typhlosion black and white peice :-O.  More works from this tensai on his deviantart page, check it out.

ARTIST 2 OF THE WEEK: PLUSHI MASTER USAKO-CHAN

frosslass_pokedoll___normal_by_usako_chan-d3knitwAaaaaaaaaawwwwww!!! That’ll probably be your 1st response to Usako-chan’s Pokemon plushie’s, I mean look at them!  Her chibi style Poké Plush are off the cuteness scale but once you get over that theirs some serious technical skill here.  Like RikuAoshi she shows real confidence in her craft, manipulating proportion, colours and adding accessories with effortless looking results.  I dare I’m yet to see much better Pokémon plush artists on the web, but that’s no surprise as she is a professional designer, so what else to expect?.

©2012-2013 ~usako-chan

For more professional cuteness from Usako-Chan check her deviant page or website.

POKEMON NEWS AND VIEWS

Pokemon news

so as I said before there’s not much since I bundled an epic amount into my last post.  There are however some interesting rumours that I wanted to discuss.

Inkay to Malamar evolution upside down – as Inkay’s evolution into Malamar has been left unknown, and Malamar is known as a Reversal Pokémon with the appearance of a reversed squid, rumour has it that you’ll have to flip your 3ds upside down at a certain level to cause this evolution! This sounds super cool and makes me want this dual type even more than I already did, so this one’s certified on my team.

Aurorus Freeze dry: Dual type moves introduced? I’ve already mentioned in my last news that this fossil Pokémon has an ice type attack that’s super effective against water types. The move is called Freeze dry and recent rumours suggest that this may be one of the rare dual type attacks that may or may not be surfacing in X & Y. The dual type legendary Yveltal’s oblivion wing is also rumoured to be a dual flying/dark technique.  I would love dual type attacks to be introduced into gameplay.  With the recent changes of resistances plus Fairy types, dual type moves would completely shake things up.  All we knew and in my case, started to find stale battle wise would be shaken and I find this very exciting.

Three kanto starters based on RPG battle classes – Apparently, chespins evolution is based on the classicwarrior/knight class, Fennekin’s is based on a Mage hence the wand in it’s behind as Braixen (yuck), and Froakie’s is based on the thief class which I’m already starting to see in Frogadier. For now I’ll consider this here say, mainly because although I love Quilladin, he looks nothing like a knight to me, and unless he gains a steel typing I don’t see how that would work.  I’ll just wait till their final forms are released to form a decent judgment.

POKEMON NOSTALGISMS

So to firstly brief this section of my posts that should have really started 3 weeks ago, (sorry news has been way too abundant!) I grew up with pokémon, my 1st experience being Pokémon Blue about 8 months or so after it’s ridiculously late UK release at the age of 10.  I’ll be recalling my journey, my experiences and squads in every generation since so her goes:

START OF MY JOURNEY

So my journey with these 2 bad boys

1 2

A weapon of mass destruction a.k.a a classic Gameboy.  It no longer work as you tell by the ruin springs in the back, but it’s still awesome for memories sakes.  Also Pokémon Blue, the cartridge that owned my life for at least 6 months:

3

So Pokémon Blue was my 1st rpg experience, lent to me by Nathaniel my then best friend.  He already had a pretty powerful squad, with a level 100 Snorlax and Jolteon so it was perfect for me to learn the ropes.  I wasn’t allowed to start a new game ofcourse, but was tasked with training his Gengar, a love story began.

Gengar Love

gengar gengar-1

At the time I was obsessed with Gengar’s ability to put other Pokémon to sleep and by the time it finally learnt Dream eater, just couldn’t understand why it wouldn’t work in battle.  Haha, I miss being that young and dumb when it came to my approach to the game, it was far more frustrating and fun!

Bye bye Bugs

beedrill-1 beedrill butterfree-1 butterfree

Bored of attempting to use Dream eater on wide awake Pokémon and watching it fail, I decided to give Gengar a break and train Nathaniel’s Beedrill. A real waste of time in the end as for all my efforts, it’s was a very feeble warrior. After fainting multiple times and then getting similar results with Butterfree, I concluded that although I still loved insects in reality gen 1’s bug types were pretty much void.  That  was a rash move in hindsight, had I have had the skill I would have attempting catching Scyther or Pinsir in the Safari zone, or a Venonat but I at this point I still just about learnt what I was doing.

Lapras

lapras-1 lapras

Lapras was a great introduction to ice Types for me.  Nathaniel already had one in his squad so after ditching the bugs it was nice to finally get hold of a useful soldier. I also thought Aurora & Ice beams looked really awesome, at the time anyway.

Elite four nightmare: Agatha!

Agatha

So Nathan was pretty terrified of taking on the Elite Four, even with 2 maxed level beasties in his squad.  He warned me not to dare do it which of course meant that as soon I got home that day I did.  All seemed to be going rather well at first and then there was Agatha… absolute nightmare.  Baring in mind that i was barely 10 years old at this point and was still regularly attempting to mega punch Ghosts.  I now consider her one of my favourite trainers ever because she taught me how a 1st gen Gengar should really be used, battering the hell out of mine with the Hypnosis/Dream Eater combo. At the time though I can honestly say my thoughts were, ‘burn the witch!’

Finally My own everything!

So roughly a year later, the show was now popular in the uk, Ash’s roided Pikachu was just, well frikkin roided! So what better 1st game of my own than Pokemon yellow, the Pikachu edition.  I got this plus my very own GBC! Which was very vogue at the time if I do say so myself:

So this is awkward……. erm Pikachu’s a Douchebag

I don’t say such bold statements lightly but Pikachu annoyed the hell out of me in a his own game edition.   It was actually quite the learning experience for me, I was a total Pikachu fanboy and was naive enough to think Ash’s pikachu was the real deal.  In reality, Pikachu’s got a strong move set but is weak as hell in the stats department and channelling the events in the show, refuses to evolve into a half decent Raichu!  I stayed lumped with Pikachu through the Elite four out of loyalty and would never do so again!

Bye bye Nathan, Hello Alakazam

alakazam-color alakazam-color-1

Alakazam was my 1st ever link cable trade on the game, and last time I hung out with my friend Nathaniel as I was off to secondary school, where I knew Pokémon would now have to be a closeted sport.  I remember that we cooed over how awesome Alakazam’s updated sprite looked and to this day, Alakazam is my favourite  Pokémon not only because of it’s beastly special attacks but because it was like a gift from a old friend, and yes I am a sap.

A Gengar of my own

gengar-color gengar-color-1

After my experience training Nathan’s Gengar I knew I had to have one of my own, but had no clue of the what a nightmare the process would be. Attaining the Silph scope to make Ghost Pokémon visible was one of the 1st times I actually got really stuck in the game and I remember just how frustrating this was.  It was worth it in the end though, even in gen 1 Gengar was pure malice with evil status effects and a special attack to match Alakazam’s.  Plus it’s updated sprite looked awesome

My Final squad

pikachu-coloralakazam-color blastoise-color gengar-color golem-color pidgeot-color 

So here was my final squad when I took on the Elite four.  Pikachu was surprisngly strong against Lorelie, seeing as most Ice types at the time were dual water and Pikachu’s speed worked for quick zaps.  Alakazam was, nothing short of beastly!  You have to remember that dark types had not been invented at this point.  Blastoise for some reason was the only 1st gen starter I loved, and It’s strength and ability to learn the only battle worthy HM surf added to this.  Gengar was there for tactical play and a special assault back up for Alakazam, it became tradition to teach it TM 29 Psychic. Golem although slow with multiple weakness was my stongest physical attacker and if all else failed, explosion time.  Pidgeot was another trickery from the show and had no way near the same speed, and poor general stats, even Mirror move was a total copout but I kept it on my squad for the fly HM.

Gen 1 trainer progress summary

Pokemon_Yellow_title_screen

So from gen one I learnt; status moves and stronger move sets.  I gained basic knowledge of typing and although I knew I loved strong special attackers, I didn’t really have a proper squad strategy with certain types assigned for certain roles.  I was simply too young and unsophisticated for all that at that point.  I was also yet to learn about ev training.  I knew from the 1st gen that Legendaries weren’t my thing, I enjoyed the labour intensive process of training weak Pokémon into beasts.  I also rarely used Tms and Hms apart from the few mentioned, I took pride in my Pokémon having naturally strong move sets.

So that’s it for this week guys, catch you next weak for More stunning art, exciting news and my next installment of Nostalgisms where I’ll be discussing my journeys on Gold/Silver & Ruby/Saphire :).

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “POKEMONDAYS 3”

  1. The Lotus War says :

    Lapras! My favorite!!!

Leave a Reply

