TimeSplitters for PS4? Can I get a hell yeah!

Image

So a TimeSplitters remake aye? It’s not like I’m over excited about it or anything, I’m calm, I’m cool.  Okay I’m not…

This is probably the best gaming news I’ve received all year and after further disappointment from the Last Guardian updates, I needed a pick-me-up.  TimeSplitters 2 was a rare exception for me, a non FPS gamer.  I’ll forever hold fond memories of It’s exhilarating multi-player and zany characters.  After years of joining starved fans in signed petitions and petulant wingeing it’s great to finally see something in the works.

To add more awesomeness to boot, TimeSplitters Rewind is fan made! A group of community programmers named Pantheonyx were given the okay for a PC port in March but it can now be confirmed that they’re developing it for the PS4 too.  This is a risky move, as Crytek have yet to green light a PS4  version and yet project lead Michael Hubicka seems quite assured if recent statements are anything to go by:

“We’re actually going to go ahead and start development [of Timesplitters Rewind] on PlayStation 4. Just because we’re pretty confident Crytek’s going to say go ahead and do it. But we don’t want them saying go ahead and do it when we’re caught with our pants down and we’re like halfway through development and [then] start something for the PlayStation 4″.

With TimeSplitters Rewind, Pantheonyx aims to combine the strongest features of it’s predecessors and polish them up .  Multiplayer of course will be a key aspect of the game, as will improved level editors and general gameplay choice, further allowing players to take the reigns of their experience.  Even more impressive is the team’s decision to exclusively re-model the game with Crytek’s CryEngine3, whilst using original models provided by Crytek for reference material.  This shows some serious dedication to create an update that remains loyal to Crytek’s creative vision.  I like it!

Image

Sadly Xbox fans may miss out on a Xbox One port, as Pantheonyx have yet to state any development plans for an Xbox release citing past issues with development for Xbox 360 as a “huge turn off”.

This doesn’t make it’s PS4 port 100% as of yet.  I’m sure with a PS4 comes further complexities in terms of legal issues and such.  Doesn’t bother me though, I’m still getting carried and you should be too.  Now who’s up for getting together for a fan-made Last Guardian? 😉

Oh and don’t forget to check the Pantheonyx site for updates.

Sources: cinemablendtsrewind, cookingwithgrenadesgameinformer.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “TimeSplitters for PS4? Can I get a hell yeah!”

  1. M4RI0K4R7 says :

    Huh, I think I’ve heard of this franchise before, but I never play–*reads level editor* … *Googles Timesplitters* …Hell no! I’ve been missing out! It’s great news that this is coming to the PS4, though.

    • pushstart89 says :

      haha trust me,Timesplitters 2 on PS2 was amazing, so much fun (which isn’t how I’d normally describe First Person Shooters at all), I hope you get to run around as the gun toting chimp again :D!

Leave a Reply

